Promise

Today is a truly sad day in the music world:  Chris Cornell, best known as the lead singer for the band, Soundgarden, passed away.   Being someone who grew up in the 80’s and 90’s, I became familiar with his music after Soundgarden’s album,  “Superunknown”, was released.   I was already emerged in the grunge music scene (thanks to bands like Pearl Jam, Alice In Chains, and Nirvana), but this record stuck out the most.   The growls and emotion could not be topped by many, and the songs’ topics helped connect to so many, because we could relate.  During my darkest days with depression, I would listen to Soundgarden on repeat, and I felt as though their songs were my therapy.    Chris worked with many talented musicians over the years, but my favorite has to be when he made the song “Promise” with Slash (formerly of Guns & Roses).    This part of the chorus stuck out the most:

“Promise me
You won’t let them put out your fire”

I promise, Chris.

Rest In Peace.

Wikipedia bio for Chris Cornell

Chris Cornell discography

Youtube video: “Promise” – Slash featuring Chris Cornell

  “Promise” lyrics

Sim location:  Countryside  

promise_001promise_005promise_003promise_004

Author: zapaterostyle

I'm a blogger for Second Life. My favorite things to talk about are clothing, hair styles, GACHA events, great photography sims, and various shops that I love!

Leave a Reply

